Tags

, , ,

Image

 

I started a new block the other day.  It feels great to get back into it.  I always say I should get more work done in the winter but the truth is I spent most of my time trying to stay warm.  I hope to finish this block today and print it tomorrow.  The title of this print will be “Blue-gray (Gnatcatcher) and Dogwood”.  It’s only 5″x7″ so the I have been using a knife to get into the tight spaces.  I plan to hand press the prints onto Japanese Paper.  The Japanese were very inspirational in the development of the design.  I have an reproduction of a Japanese woodcut in my bedroom that greets me every morning.  It seemed appropriate since my favorite thing to do on Saturday mornings is to listen to the birds outside my window.  I chose to depict the BG Gnatcatcher only because I don’t think it gets much attention during Spring migration.  It’s tiny, hard to see and shows up before the masses of warblers get here.

